roby
roby
Resolved
0 votes
hi, i'm Roberto from Italy, and i'm new in this forum ... i have little experience in using MIDI...
i've just both a DTX700 drum kit (second-hand), and i'm trying to use it with MIDI. Unfortunately every DAW software that i use functions only with the General Midi Kit (kit number 50). With other kits i have problems with the HiHat (RHH 135)...
Is it normal ??? Is there a way to solve this problem ???

thank you

p.s. sorry for my english :p
Thursday, February 08 2018, 11:07 PM
Share this post:
Responses (7)
  • Accepted Answer

David
    David
    Thursday, February 08 2018, 11:32 PM - #Permalink
    Resolved
    0 votes
    it's down to getting a MIDI map for your DAW to map the other kits onto.

I use Cakewalk and have MIDI Maps (INS Files) that map specific DTX kits to the appropriate MIDI numbers, You may find the equivalent for your DAW and kit. As a default, most DAWs understand GM (General MIDI maps), which define, for example, kick on note #36, snare on note#38 etc.
    https://www.midi.org/specifications/item/gm-level-1-sound-set
    The reply is currently minimized Show
  • Accepted Answer

roby
    roby
    Saturday, February 10 2018, 04:39 PM - #Permalink
    Resolved
    0 votes
    Thank you David for your reply... !!!

unfortunately i'm almost completely new to MIDI mapping... to your knowledge, Is there any link or video-tutorial for dummies ???

p.s. I downloaded MidiPipe, and i'm tryng to figure it out, but for now with bad results !!! :p

Roby
  • Accepted Answer

David
    David
    Monday, February 12 2018, 01:07 PM - #Permalink
    Resolved
    0 votes
    Right - let's start from the beginning.

What are you trying to achieve ?
  • Accepted Answer

roby
    roby
    Tuesday, February 13 2018, 10:14 PM - #Permalink
    Resolved
    0 votes
    ok David... i'll try to explain myself the best that i can (considering my english) ...