Simon
Simon
Resolved
0 votes
I've just purchased a nearly new DTX400 kit and want to use it to trigger sounds from a VST, such as EZDrummer2 or SSD, through a Windows 10 laptop. As a total newbie to edrums and midi I'm after some basic help to get the sounds I want to play along to songs on my phone (i.e. I'm not looking to record). Hopefully the DTX400 will be OK for this... Assuming so:

1. Do I need an interface between the drum module and my laptop, or can I connect directly?

2. Are there any benefits (low latency wise) with direct connection vs midi interface

3. If an interface is required/preferred, what would be a suitable (low cost) option?

4. Do I need a DAW? If so, are there any free/low cost ones that are worth looking at?

5. For rock drum sounds, what VST would be worth buying?

Appreciate any help to get me on the right road!

Thanks.

Simon
Monday, July 15 2019, 01:56 PM
Share this post:
Responses (3)
  • Accepted Answer

David
    David
    Monday, July 15 2019, 08:08 PM - #Permalink
    Resolved
    0 votes
    1. Direct. No choice. You have only USB - no DIN MIDI.
    2. No choice, see 1.
    3. No choice, see 1.
    4. Not necessarily need a full DAW. VST hosts are available.
    5. Nothing wrong with samples Yamaha rock drum sounds in the module. But if you really wanna play with software, there's loads of choice to buy. You'll get as many opinions as drummers! (it's a bit like asking "what's a good drum kit for rock".) Some of the main ones have trials - download a few and see what you think. There's also this you can play with for nothing https://www.powerdrumkit.com/

You will need a soundcard for the VST unless you already have a good one in your PC (unlikely it it's a laptop). Cheapest starter would be something like the Behringer UCA202.
    The reply is currently minimized Show
  • Accepted Answer

Simon
    Simon
    Sunday, July 28 2019, 09:14 AM - #Permalink
    Resolved
    0 votes
    Thanks for the info David.